I am pissed off on what Mr Pavel L. is doing by stealing tons of content of geospatial blogs around the world. As a big fun of Don Quixote, I decided to try to reach this guy by registering to his passing off geo2web site and submit a bunch of comments below posts he has stolen from my own website.
The result? No result. And, as expected Mr Pavel has removed all my comments within an hours as well as he blocked my mloskot account in geo2web.com.
As a really big fun of Don Quixote, I probably will try to call on his phone kindly asking him to find another and legal way of becoming a geospatial celebrity.
I don’t like chickens
Update 2009-04-16 0:45: I’ve got my chips. The IP address I currently use has been blocked by Mr P. What a f**king kid!
Update 2009-04-16 19:20: Thanks to Fellows from gis-lab.info – Russian geospatial community – for supporting my voice
I’d say a quick edit to the .htaccess is in order eh?
James,
Yes! ;-)
BTW, Have you tried it?
Still trying to figure out the IP. This is my latest attempt…
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^67\.255\.166\.(.*)$
RewriteRule .* feed://www.projecthoneypot.org/list_of_ips.php?t=p&rss=1 [R,L]
James,
What about putting geo2web.com (+ its DNS domain) into .htaccess?
I’d not be surprised if this guy was trying to suck feeds from different servers, then it may be needed to look at logs/stats to find for regular frequent (once per hours or so) requests.
Anyway, I’m not going to give up :-)
Well keep me updated on what you figure out, I’m trying everything to keep him from taking Planet Geospatial feeds.
I just tried commenting on his site and got a ‘500′, ditto if I click any article header.
The site sure is a ripoff, though!
@James – once he has your list of sites, he doesn’t need your feed any more.
So, if you click on “Ads by Google” on geo2web, you can get to a Google Ads feedback form (click on the link “Send Google your thoughts on the site or the ads you just saw”) where you can say that you think the ads are on a site that violates the AdSense TOS, namely “Any other content that is illegal, promotes illegal activity, or infringes on the legal rights of others”
James, I will drop you a note about how I’ve fixed it for now. As I see, he nothing has been stolen from planet.osgeo.org for ~24 hours.
I also blocked him access to my own website, not only to the planet.
Alan is right that it’s impossible to take care of blocking access to all websites syndicated in the planetgs.com or planet.osgeo.org.
However, I’m quite sure it’s always good to block him, so our planets don’t participate nor being a proxy in stealing blogs.
Later, other blogs owners may try to fight against this on their own as well.
Maybe Directions media or the NSGIC or another party with more resources would be willing to pursue this?
David,
Perhaps, but I’m not going to ask for it.
Looks like its not taking my content as well now. At least that is fixed. I just updated Planet Geospatial as well so that should stop that flow as well.
Thanks for working this our Mateusz, its bothered me for months and I’ve not acted on it.
James,
Yes, looks like it works. I’ll keep you updated!
Looks like he’s pulling my feed again.
James,
I can’t see any links to your planet or blog in the page source code. Can you see it, near VIA label?
Its about 3/4 of the way down. Here is the direct link:
http://www.geo2web.com/2009/04/23/view-2009-esri-developer-summit-presenations-and-code/
I’m guessing it is from the blog and not Planet Geospatial since I’m the only one. The post before this one didn’t show, so I’m not sure what is new.